How to be an expert juggler (no circus experience required)

Working on 15 million things right now and it’s driving me a little crazy, but that’s really nothing unusual in the Rachel-sphere.

Taking on more than one creative endeavour with varying deadlines really makes you FANTASTIC at juggling priorities. It takes a little practice but once you get the knack, it’s total smooth sailing.

TASK 1

…is a sweet little custom order for my amazing author-Cousin (check her out here: https://www.amazon.com/Jane-Washington/e/B00TXE0K9U) who has a series of books which we are miniature-ising into tiny little novel pendants.

Currently working on Books 2 and 3. You can see the cute little book 1 one below.

So far we just have a pile of card & twine, but soon they’ll bloom into cute little mini-novels….:)

TASK 2

…is something I’m super excited about since it’s one of my favourite things in the entire world: a lighthouse. Oh yeah.

There’s something so nostalgic and mesmerising about lighthouses and the way they guide ships away from the rocky coastline…. I don’t know…I just love them. One day when money is my BFF I am going to do a lighthouse world tour. Lighthouse-Nerd-Alert.

Any way, here’s my progress so far.

How darling is that little light? I’m kinda proud.

TASK 3

…is not something I can talk about yet. But it’s going to be seriously seriously wicked. Can’t wait to do the big reveal….stay tuned!

TASK 4

…involves a lot of planning, research, designing, time and patience that I don’t really possess.

I’m in the process of a bit of an exercise in re-branding, looking at the beginnings of a website and a change in my focus. All that strategic stuff that you have to really be in the mood for. Ugh.

I’ve realised that one of my favourite (and most successful) paper art creations to make are custom orders, not only because they’re something different and fresh, but also because I love to be able to wow someone with something that’s unique and special to them, and also something that can’t be re-produced.

Hence, new focus!

More website / branding news to come…

Juggling all of this + a full time job can be a bit nuts, but really is achievable if you break it down into chunks.

I tend to go with my mood and what I feel like focusing on at any given moment. The deadline obviously drives that as well, but I think the key thing to do is to make sure you do a little bit of everything on a regular basis. That way you’re making progress on everything you want to get done.

Works for me 🙂

I’ve learnt that as an artist, if you want to reach some kind of milestone or achieve some kind of success, basically it just comes down to slogging away at it, a little bit each day. Smash one barrier and then onto the next.

At least that’s what I tell myself anyway 🙂

Leave a Reply

