So many columns. So much diminishing patience.

Paper project no 2 got me architecting again – this time with a little more of a historical focus – specifically a replica of The Pantheon.

Ambitious? Yes. Did I go mad? Almost. Was it all worthwhile? DEFINITELY.

This was for another good friend’s birthday, and yes you guessed it – The Pantheon is her favourite old building.

I remember when we were on Contiki together years ago, as we were exploring the streets of Rome, she randomly suddenly ran off – and it wasn’t until I finally caught up to her that I discovered that she had found The Pantheon. Only then did I realise how much she loved that building.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

To be completely honest, I’m not sure what possessed me to even try and make this out of paper, it was a MASSIVE job. It was built on a large piece of foam board from various pieces of thick card stock. I literally had to map out the proportions before I did any constructing, and then build it piece by piece.

The columns just about killed my patience – that was way too much paper-rolling for my liking, but I persisted because I knew how awesome it was going to look (or at least hoped). It wasn’t so much making them that was onerous, it was getting them properly spaced out and ensuring they were each EXACTLY the same height to make sure I didn’t have any awkward wonkiness happening – that was the kicker. I almost bailed halfway through, but once again persistence hauled me up, gave me a talking to and got me working again.

The coolest part was making a textured paste to cover it in, which was acrylic paint mixed with a sandy texturiser. I slathered it on and suddenly the Pantheon was coming to life. The paint gave it this super-cool old stone look and instantly transformed it from rough paper architecture to instant historical structure.

Oh the cleverness of me I thought.

The finished piece actually surprised me – I didn’t think it was going to look as authentic as it did, so it was nice to sit back and admire the outcome.

I would say the satisfaction I receive from this moment in the life-cycle of my paper art is the reason I work so hard to create my own version of perfection. The end result always kicks some serious butt!

What I learned:

No more columns. Ever.

Leave a Reply

